Cover Reveal: Gwenda Bond’s The Woken Gods

Last year I read and reviewed Gwenda Bond’s debut novel and one of Strange Chemistry Books’ launch titles Blackwood. I really liked the book and am really looking forward to Bond’s next book The Woken Gods. The stated premise of the book – the ancient gods of mythology have risen and the consequences of their rising – caught my interest and I’m interested to see how Bond tackles this and which pantheons she’s included in her risen gods. 

Today I’m pleased to be able to share the grand reveal of The Woken Gods cover. The design was created by Amazing15, who have done some amazing cover designs for Angry Robot and Titan Publishing. Here it is followed by the blurb the publisher included:

gwendabond-thewokengods

Five years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke around the world.

This morning, Kyra Locke is late for school.

Seventeen-year-old Kyra lives in a transformed Washington, D.C., home to the embassies of divine pantheons and the mysterious Society of the Sun. But when rebellious Kyra encounters two trickster gods on her way back from school, one offering a threat and the other a warning, it turns out her life isn’t what it seems. She escapes with the aid of Osborne “Oz” Spencer, an intriguing Society field operative, only to discover that her scholar father has disappeared with a dangerous relic. The Society needs it, and they don’t care that she knows nothing about her father’s secrets.

Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the suspect help of scary gods, her estranged oracle mother, and, of course, Oz–whose first allegiance is to the Society. She has no choice if she’s going to recover the missing relic and save her father. And if she doesn’t? Well, that may just mean the end of the world as she knows it.

From the author of Blackwood comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan.

***

I think it’s an interesting cover, which got me thinking about how the Capitol building might fit into the narrative and what clues about the included pantheons I could find. What do you think?

Want to find out more about Gwenda Bond and The Woken Gods? You can find Gwenda online at her website and on Twitter.

Share
  • Great cover! That’s ma hometown! I’m glad you found the magic in it!

  • I’m really looking forward to this one. The cover art alone would have grabbed my attention, but the synopsis just sealed the deal!